Category Archives: Fire Services

CFA Victoria Fire Services Victoria

Country Fire Authority (Victoria)


The origins of the CFA date back to the 1850s with the formation of the first Volunteer Fire Brigades. In the 1890s, The Metropolitan Fire Brigades Board (MFBB) and the Country Fire Brigades Board (CFBB) were created with by the Fire Brigade Act. The CFBB has power and responsibility of all fire brigades based more than 16km from Melbourne. In 1945, the CFA was formed following recommendations from the Black Friday fires.

As the service, and the communities it serves grew around it, CFA for a period had an increasing staff of paid firefighters in outer suburbs and regional centres. In 2020 with the implementation of the Fire Services Reform and formation of Fire Rescue Victoria, CFA returned to being a Volunteer based emergency service organisation.

Now, CFA is made up of over 1,200 Volunteer Fire Brigades, who operate over 2,000 Appliances (vehicles). The membership of brigades is 100% volunteer, with around 50,000 members. Staff support from an administrative and command support, with around 800 full time employees.

CFA Website

Horsham CFA Fire Station, D17

CFA Brigade posts

CFA Vehicle posts

* Note that some vehicles may appear here which are now part of FRV but undertook some service time in CFA

Fire Services MFB Melbourne Victoria

Fire Rescue Victoria


Fire Rescue Victoria is actually one of the newest State Fire Services in Australia. FRV is an updated service, bringing together the former Metropolitan Fire Brigade (MFB), as well as the full-time firefighting component that was previously part of CFA.

The new organisation was established on 1 July 2020 as part of Victoria’s Fire Services Reforms.

There are 85 FRV fire and rescue stations across the state. Our firefighters operate 47 fire stations in metropolitan Melbourne and 38 regional stations, most of which are co-located with CFA volunteer brigades.

(Further on FRV website )

FRV Station posts

    FRV Vehicle posts

      Fire & Rescue NSW Fire Services New South Wales

      Fire & Rescue NSW


      Fire & Rescue NSW as it is known since renaming from New South Wales Fire Brigades, was formed in 1910. It is the primary urban fire service protecting NSW and is responsible for protecting all cities and major towns in NSW.

      FRNSW is the combat agency for fires and rescues within defined areas, and HAZMAT response throughout the state. They also provide assistance as required to other emergency management agencies locally and abroad.

      FRNSW operates 338 Fire Stations and 637 firefighting vehicles across the state, with more than 6,900 firefighters who are a mixed of full-time and retained (part-time) members.

      (information courtesy of Fire & Rescue NSW website )

      A chocolate factory in Marrickville, Sydney's Inner West , was destroyed by fire on New Years Day 2009. It was the second time the factory had burnt down.

      FRSNSW Stations

      FRNSW Vehicles

      Fire Services New South Wales NSW Rural Fire Service

      NSW Rural Fire Service


      Over 100 years ago the residents of the south-western New South Wales township of Berrigan formed Australia’s first official bush fire brigade. The residents joined together as firefighters for mutual protection against the ever-present threat of bush fires.

      On 1 September 1997, The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSWRFS) was established by an act of Parliament as the successor to the first bush fire brigade, redefining the world’s largest fire service and building on a century of experience in protecting some of the most fire-prone areas on earth.

      Today the Service comprises over 2,000 volunteer rural fire brigades with a total membership of just over 70,000. In addition, salaried staff are employed to manage the day to day operations of the Service at Headquarters, regional offices and district fire control centres.

      (Extract from NSW Rural Fire Service:



      The Rural Fire Service (RFS) is comprised of 2,094 brigades and has a total volunteer membership of approximately 70,000.

      In addition, we have about 700 staff situated at Headquarters, regional offices and Fire Control Centres around NSW.

      The RFS Headquarters, located at Lidcombe, comprises five Directorates, each headed by a Director.

      They are:

      • Executive Services
      • Operational Services
      • Regional Services
      • Infrastructure Services
      • Membership & Strategic Services

      NSW is divided into four regions, each staffed by a Regional Manager and personnel in the functional areas of:

      • administration
      • finance
      • community safety
      • learning and development
      • operations.

      At the district or local government level, Fire Control Officers are appointed to manage the day-to-day affairs of brigades.

      The role of rural fire brigades encompasses far more than bush fires. Members are regularly called upon to attend road accidents, assist in search and rescue operations, and storm and flood recovery. The RFS is responsible for structural firefighting in more than 1,200 towns and villages.

      (Extract from NSW Rural Fire Service:

      NSW Rural Fire Service Brigades

      NSW Rural Fire Service Vehicles